OLWG #16 – John Detweiler Moves On

 This weeks prompts are at the bottom. The story here – well – is just for practice.

Here’s how to play along, if you are unsure.



“I’m looking for someone named Detweiler.”  Mr. Ogilvie kinda grinned sheepishly and looked around the room, studiously avoiding looking in my direction, I was off to his right on the dais table. “John Detweiler?” he intoned. People at the other tables were cat calling and pointing in my direction. Lorraine Newsome, from accounting, clapped me on the back and urged me to stand up.

Now, I’ve known Ogilvie for almost thirty years; since he came on board here at MegaPharm, as CEO. I met him first when I was a Creative Engineering Associate, working in the “Creative Copyrighting” department. We were a young and fledgling department of only about 50 people at the time, before that I had been a marketing whiz kid. Ogilvie was hired on as CEO about that time, and has since added “Chairman” to his job title.

Creative Copyrighting was formed to generate names for new drugs developed by MegaPharm. Drug names should be random and non-language specific. They should not mean anything in any language known to man. I had about ten years under my belt with the company when the opportunity to get in on the ground floor of this exciting new department was offered; I jumped on it and never looked back. I was the one who created the common names, “Thespiscarium” and “Imagenoctotoly” for drugs that had been developed to combat specific artistic disorders. Those particular drugs were not really commercially successful (actors with stage fright and authors with writers block tend to not have enough money to afford these types of medications), but they helped me to establish a reputation within the department. I rapidly rose to the position of Assistant Director and began working closely with Ogilvie on the Steering Committee that he headed, to define corporate direction.

“John Detweiler?” he asked again without looking in my direction.

I stood to a smattering of applause and made my way to the podium where Ogilvie was looking around the room, he feigned surprise when he saw me there, “Can I help you sir?” he asked me.

I pasted a serious and somber expression on my face, “I’m Detweiler.” I said.

“No, no; you can’t be. The John Detweiler I met was a much younger man.”

“Well, I used to be a much younger man; I think I’m the John Detweiler that you’re looking for.”

He shrugged his shoulders and removed a small box from his pocket, “If you say so, Director.”

We both grinned and he carried on, “Seriously, John; I have real mixed emotions about this. I can’t think of anyone more deserving of this gold watch, or what it symbolizes in terms of your service to this company, but damn man; do you really have to retire?”

 


This week’s prompts are:

  1. As if no one cared
  2. soy muy hocicon
  3. One in the chamber

Go ahead and dive in,
Write something
Ready, Set, Go – you have 25 minutes!

7 thoughts on “OLWG #16 – John Detweiler Moves On

  1. Omar Herrera Rodriguez stood stock still on the corner of Hidalgo and Calle Aldama. Hands shaking, he loaded a single bullet into the chamber of his pistol and spun it around. “NO SOY HOCICON! NO SOY…HOC…HOCICON!” As he yelled, Omar lifted the gun to his temple and pulled the trigger. The bullet made a clean run through his skull and out the other side. His body collapsed on the sidewalk. A woman across the street pulled out her cell phone and called the police. Two men walked past the Omar without looking, as if they couldn’t care less.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.