OLWG #32- Romance is Stupid and I Hate It

 Are you guys staying warm and dry? I hope so.

Here in Santa Cruz, we received very little rain on Saturday. Friday we got only about two inches and the day before that only three quarters of an inch. Passing showers are forecast for Sunday but not much precipitation, to speak of. High temperatures are hovering at about 60 degrees Fahrenheit. I can’t complain too much!

This week’s prompts are at the bottom. The work below is just practice for me. Practice makes perfect.

Here’s how to play along, if you are unsure.



The plan had been in the making for weeks. Finally the time was right; there was elegant food, an attentive wait staff, candlelight, starched white tablecloths, and sparkling wine. She sat across the table ignoring the feast as thumbs pounded mercilessly on the screen of her phone. Her dark hair was cropped into a short bob so when she opened her eyes wide and smiled her crooked little smile, she looked like a Lego girl.

Boys love Legos. Men loved her. She broke my heart when she saw the ring and heard my plea. She laughed. Then she scowled and set her phone down, staring.

“Please don’t be texting,
while I’m proposing.” I said.
“I wasn’t texting
I was playing Candy Crunch,
and now I’ve lost this level!”


This weeks prompts:

  1. hitched up his trousers
  2. there are no rules
  3. oh, I have tea too

Go ahead and dive in,
Write something
Ready, Set, Go – you have 25 minutes, but if that is not possible, take as long as you need.

Have fun

I have written a Haibun, of sorts. The prose is accompanied by Tanka instead of Haiku but that is not really much of a deviation. My subject matter and the flippant tone of the piece demonstrates a hint of irreverence. Matsuo Bashō is undoubtedly rolling over.

12 thoughts on “OLWG #32- Romance is Stupid and I Hate It

  1. Well, “roll over, Beethoven,” I say.
    Wet and cold in our neck ‘o the woods. Warm and dry will have to wait for August.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great description of her as Lego girl. Her emotions run about as deep it seems. Poor deluded proposer.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.