OLWG #117- Skritch… Skritch…

This week’s prompts are at the bottom.
Practice makes perfect. Let me know what you think.

Here’s how to play along, if you are unsure.



We stand nose to nose in the kitchen.
You have your voice raised; as you
go on and on about what a shit day you had.
How your boss slapped you on the ass.
I try to tell you why I think I may be fired
over problems at the McNulty account.
We’re talking over one another like we always do.

And then, Bird comes on the box. His Savoy and Dial recordings drop to the turntable
from the stack and the needle settles in with a scratch; skritch… skritch… skritch….

And then

We’re clinging together in the middle of the kitchen.
Our feet planted firmly on the ancient linoleum
we sway gently back and forth.
Your arms wrap around my shoulders,
my arms go ’round your waist.
When you raise your lips and nuzzle my neck
I nip your ear and breathe in the clean scent of your hair.


This week’s prompts are:

  1. Where the grass grows uphill
  2. A hole in the sky for the birds to fly through
  3. Written in fire

Go ahead and dive in, set your imagination free!
Write something
Ready, Set, Go – you have 25 minutes, but if that is not possible, take as long as you need and, have fun!

 

14 thoughts on “OLWG #117- Skritch… Skritch…

  1. I see it was just about here I fell in love with your phrasal prompts and as you can see, the infatuation continues.. I don’t believe I ever commented on the distinct air of casual intimacy you have drawn into the practice write that accompanied this set of prompts. Masterfully done.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.