OLWG #127- The Arrangement

This week’s prompts are at the bottom.
Practice makes perfect.

Here’s how to play along, if you are unsure.



My younger sister, Muriel, was in the kitchen doing homework on the breakfast table. I was in my laboratory working on something involving beakers, Bunsen burners, and burets when Father came home that night.

Mother was in the family room watching game shows on the old black and white Zenith. She asked him where he’d been. She pointed out that it was late and he hadn’t even bothered to call. I could tell by my father’s voice that he’d had a snootful. He was blathering on about the deal he’d made with someone whom he called Mr Arnold. My father had met Mr Arnold in a roadhouse that night. He was a rancher and landowner somewhere in Doña Ana County, two counties south.

“We’ll never be hungry again, Arianna,” Father said, “Arnold wants to marry Muriel and I’ve given my blessing.”

“What have you done, Bernard? Muriel is but a child.” Mother said. “And, Arnold is a pig. I have seen him in town, he is rude and he sweats too much.”

“He’ll give us land,” my father argued. “He’ll give us cattle. She’ll have a rich husband. I won’t hear any more from you, Arianna. It is decided.” He stumbled upstairs to sleep it off, and I listened to my mother cry.

In the morning Muriel was gone along with all my mother’s kitchen money, all the money that she had kept in the cracked crock on the counter.

Now, of course, Father will have to make some sort of retribution to Mr Arnold for reneging on the deal he had made. I just hoped I would see Muriel again. I wondered if Mother knew where she had gone.


This week’s prompts are:

  1. a shiny blue bikini
  2. slide trombone
  3. Tahoe mud

  1. Go ahead and dive in, set your imagination free!
    Write something
    Ready, Set, Go – you have 25 minutes, but if that is not possible, take as long as you need and, have fun!

     

7 thoughts on “OLWG #127- The Arrangement

  1. Different times… I’d like to think Mom gave Muriel the money and blessings to boot.
    (3)
    I did more smooshing…but I didn’t open much yet…But Dawg got a paw-full. 😉
    #22 Escrow?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.